Today was not like most days. Today was a bad mom day. I'll preface by saying I work from home 3 days a week. I'm not a stay at home mom (one day, please God), I'm a work at home mom. Now, I understand that some moms dream of even that opportunity, and I'm extremely grateful to get to spend so much time with my son as he grows. But today, I wanted to scream or cry or both almost all day long. Little man is now in the "I'm a toddler, so I must touch everything" phase so there was not much to be done while he was awake, with having to get up and correct him every few minutes. But worst feelings of all feelings was when he pulled himself to stand at my legs to then cry because mommy couldn't play with him right then.
I know I'm overreacting, but it makes me feel better to write about it. Hearing my son cry when I can't really play with him like he (and I) want to because my paycheck depends on it is the most awful thing to hear. I don't like putting my work above my family. I want out, I want to just play with him when I want to. I'm starting to become envious of those moms that just get to be stay at home moms. Those moms that don't have to worry about work deadlines and their families, and I'm sure any of them reading this are rolling their eyes thinking "she has it so good!" I have to keep reminding myself of that, but today was a hard day to think that way. To all you stay at home moms, hold your babies close tonight as I try to hold on to mine. To all you successful work at home moms out there I wonder how you do it and not lose your mind. If you have any pointers, I'd be willing to listen. As for now, a good venting session with my own mom will have to do.





